Coding Languages

I am a novice when it comes to web design. at uni i learnt the old way... hard coding html it seems to me these days that the web is moving away from this model (and it gets really complex when you start messing around with tables etc.) I am just wondering what languages i should try and learn and for what functionality? php? Java? i have recently been involved in desinging a fairly large site but i did all the work in html and another designer did the back end for me. mostly in php i believe. since it falls to me to maintain the site it might be handy to learn this language.

Re: Coding Languages

PHP is just another type of language, HTML is still the code of choice by most coders. PHP comes into play with using databases etc for names, images etc getting that info easily referenced. Also CSS for styles is more popular lately as well.

My suggestion to you is stick with what you know until you have to know the other. Because if you don't know it, it comes unstuck very quickly.

Well first you have to understand the difference between HTML and programming languages like PHP. HTML is a markup language that is used to tell browsers how to organize and display content. It has no inherrent dynamic capabilites as a language, meaning it does not process code and perform logic. HTML is certainly not going away anytime soon, although it has evolved slightly into more strict standards.

XHTML is the current incarnation of the HTML standard, but it uses some syntax structuring from XML. XHTML is basically the same thing as HTML but with more strict rules about the syntax (i.e., all tags must be lowercase, all attribute values must be in double quotes, etc.).

If you view the souce code of various websites, you'll (hopefully) see a DOCTYPE declaration at the top of the page indicating which version the page is using - either HTML 4.01, XHTML 1.0 Transitional, or XHTML 1.1 Strict, etc.