Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Wide angle lens issues (need help!)

Hi All,

First off, I'm a beginner (so please take it easy on me ) but I'm fortunate enough to have some pretty decent equipment.

I'm attaching two photos. Both taken with a D200. One is taken with a Tamron 20-40mm, 2.7-3.5 lens. The second taken with a Nikon 35-70mm, constant 2.8 lens.

While I'm very happy with photos I take with the Nikkon, I much less happy with those I take with the Tamron. Pictures with the Tamron lens just look washed out without sufficient contrast as you'll easily be able to tell from the attached. Is this just a function of the lens or the lens/camera combo or am I just doing something wrong?

Any help would be much appreciated. I basically need a wide-angle that performs as well as my 35-70.

Thanks much!
    ram5

DSC_0053_2.jpg
    Tamron
    shutter: 1/640
    f3.3
    34mm

DSC_0054_2.jpg
    Nikon
    shutter: 1/1500
    f2.8
    35mm
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Wide angle lens issues (need help!)-dsc_0053_2.jpg   Wide angle lens issues (need help!)-dsc_0054_2.jpg  

Re: Wide angle lens issues (need help!)

It is not a matter of contrast, but rather colour temperature. The top shot is warmer with whites that are more toward a light yellow and blacks that are more toward a grey/green.
    The bottom shot is cooler with better blues, accurate whites and blacker blacks.

Colour balance can easily be adjusted in postprocessing to make them look identical.

Ronnoco

Quote Originally Posted by ram5
    DSC_0053_2.jpg
    Tamron
    shutter: 1/640
    f3.3
    34mm

DSC_0054_2.jpg
    Nikon
    shutter: 1/1500
    f2.8
    35mm