Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

what 35mm film should I get?

Hi..

After few years of Digital I'm going back to film.
    Just got for my birthday a Nikon F90X / MB10 camera with a Nikon 28-85mm, 75-300mm lens and SB-25 flash. As you can see very old school.
    I don't remember anything about films anymore, 10 years back in Argentina I used to work as a photographer for a local magazine and also in a lab developing photos and after so many years I find myself wondering about what film to get.. shame on me..
    What you think it could be a good film to start shotting...
    I'm no doing any professional kind of job right now but I want the best result on my photos.
    Any suggestion will be well appreciated.
    cheers
    Juanjo

wanna see photos !

Learning more with every "click" mjs1973's Avatar

Re: what 35mm film should I get?

Do you want to shoot print film, or slide film, color or B&W? For color slides, I love Fuji Provia 100 & 400,and Velvia 50 and the new 100. For special subjects, I like to grab a few rolls of Kodachrome 64.

For color print film, I have been really happy with Kodak Portra. I am also pretty impressed with the Fuji Superia (I think that's the name) that I get at Wal-mart.

I don't have much experience with B&W films, but I did like T-max and Tri-X when I was taking a photo class.

Others here have a lot more film experiance than I do and can give you some other suggestions.
    Mike

My website
    Twitter
    Blog

"I thought that because fewer wolves meant more deer, that no wolves would mean hunters' paradise. But after seeing the green fire die, I sensed that neither the wolf nor the mountain agreed with such a view."
    Aldo Leopold