Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Question Well what do ya think.....???

(Kinda long-winded post, sorry)

Hey Everyone,

I am up here in Gatlinburg TN on our annual Family Snow Vacation. Went to the mountains, and found what was left of the snow. I decided to pull out the camera and try to take a few shots of the kids while sledding. I decided to use the Automatic setting on my drebel and what follows is the result. In looking at the info, and trying to figure out why the pictures came out so dark, I think I came up with some possibilities. I would like ya'alls opinion, and see what everyone thinks. I am a brand new newbie, so any help anyone could offer would be greatly appreciated.

Idea #1 - In the automatic camera setting, the ISO was set at 160. I am thinking that for the actual low light conditions present (due to being in a very shaded area) the camera was fooled by the white snow, and hence threw off the WB. I am thinking that better results could have been obtained using a higher ISO, say 400.

Idea #2 - Adjust the exposure (increase by 1-2/3). I have been reading all about this, but never thought of it while in the Auto mode. I did use the onboard flash on the rebel, however obviously it wasn't enough. I have an idea I will be adding an external flash to my wish list....

Idea #3 - Shutter speed and aperature. This is the area I need help in. For the picture below the Tv = 1/100, and the Av = 5.6. Would a larger aperature have helped? I know that in order to freeze the action the Tv should remain high, but how about the Av? Like I said any help here would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks for any and all help, I greatly respect everyones input....

Ken
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Well what do ya think.....???-sled_1.jpg