Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Using a Reflector for Outdoor Portraits

I'm looking for advice on how to use a reflector for outdoor available-light portraits.

I recently got a 42" 5-in-1 reflector, but I haven't used it yet. I'm planning to offer some friends free portraits that they can use for Mother's Day gifts, if they will serve as guinea pigs for me. I'm very new to portraits. Everything I've read about lighting involves a studio lighting set up with a reflector for fill, but I don't think the outdoor diffused light (late afternoon shade) will be as directional as studio lighting. Am I right about that? So, should I just use the reflector to lighten the shadows under the eyes, nose and chin? Should it be off to one side? Should it be high, low, or even with the face? I'm guessing the reflector would also be my source for catchlights in the eyes?

For exposure, should I take an incident reading near the face, with the reflector in place? Or, should I just trust my N75?...maybe with bracketing?

I'll be using B&W film, if that matters.

I know this is a lot of questions, but I'm open to any portrait advice you're willing to give me. Thanks for your help!

Paul

don't tase me, bro! Asylum Steve's Avatar

An inexact scinece...

Paul, it should be fun learning to use your reflector. Remember, what you see is what you get...

The thing you don't want is for the reflector to overpower your other light sources. The effect should be subtle. If you can look at a shot and instantly know that a reflector was used, that means it wasn't used correctly.