Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Question Upgrading from EOS 300D for internal photos

Hi,
    I am an Estate Agent in the UK and want to get much better photos of the insides of houses. These photos are often shot in relatively low light, and quite often with house lights on. I use a Canon EOS 300D and usually shoot at very low speeds (usually around 1/10 at 7.1 or 8) on a tripod. Time is money and so I need to take the photos fairly quickly. I want to upgrade my camera and have been thinking about a 40D or 50D (but have also read that it might suit to get a 450D or Xsi) - so I'm a bit confused. I am hoping that I can upgrade using Canon rather than moving to a Nikon (say 300D?) as I have a Sigma wide angle 10-20mm; a Canon 18-55mm and a Sigma APO 50-500mm F4-6.3EX zoom lens (that I want to use for bird photography). The key though is my job taking photos of the inside of houses. Can you advise me which to go for please - I would describe myself as a beginner with a little bit of extra knowledge so the camera needs to be fairly easy to use. Thanks for your help.

Re: Upgrading from EOS 300D for internal photos

What is wrong with the photos that you take already? Can you post some examples?

You are already doing many things right:

- tripod
    - wide-angle lenses

The more recent cameras will give you more Mpix and higher ISO with less noise. However estate agents typically post on Internet and make fairly small prints so these improvements won't necessarily be visible. If you want to resolve lighting issues then a new camera might not be the solution.
    Charles

Nikon D800, D7200, Sony RX100m3
    Not buying any more gear this year. I hope

Nature/Wildlife Forum Co-Moderator Loupey's Avatar