Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Underwater/surf photography. Help! Questions about lag time and underwater housing

Ok, I am an avid surf photographer and I want to start shooting from the water.

Even if you have never shot from the water or have any experience in surf photography, I have some questions about tech that I am sure you can help me with.

As for film vs digital, I am ruiling out film because it is just too hard to swim in and paddle back out past the breakers every time you have to get a new roll. Convenience is key when in the water.

I currently shoot with a digital rebel. However, there are two reasons why I do not want to get a housing for it. 1) if my SLR ever got damaged it would be a BIG loss. 2) It is just too expensive for me. So, I am looking to get a point and shoot digital camera and housing. Prefferably canon. Here are a few things I need:
    1) at least 1/1000th of a second max shutter speed
    2) little or no shutter lag
    3) it needs to have good wide angle zoom, at least down to 25mm (as a 35mm equivilant)
    4) It has to be at least 4 megapixles

I would prefer it to be as inexpensive as possible, or mass produced, so it would be easy to find on ebay or elsewhere used. I would also prefer that it use a compact flash card, as I already have some.

Any help or suggestions for reaching these goals is greatly appreciated. I know it might not be able to be done, or it might not be able to work exactly as I had planned, but I am willing to try.

thanks in advance for any and all suggestions.

Re: Underwater/surf photography. Help! Questions about lag time and underwater housing

Quote Originally Posted by Ryguyinlj
    Ok, I am an avid surf photographer and I want to start shooting from the water.