Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Thread: Two-Parter

Two-Parter

Hey all,
    total newbie here and I have two questions. First, I think I have dust inside my lens; I have a casio exilim 7.2 mgp point and shoot. I just read another thread stating that this could in fact be a dirty sensor? or is that something that only plague's SLRs? I thought an example might be handy, so here it is.

Second, I'm headed to Dublin in April for about 5 days, and I want to take more than just my little point and shoot. I was thinking about upgrading to something a little more robust. I used to have a Canon EOS 35mm a long time ago, so I'm no stranger to interchangeable lenses and filters and such, but I'm also not sure I want to mess with all that again too much baggage. My father just bought a P80 Nikon, which I'm very fond of; but was hoping for a little advice.

Thanks!
    ~5yb

Re: Two-Parter

Is your sample image just a part of the whole shot? I'm trying to figure out how big that piece of "something" is. Usually this is a problem that affects DSLR's because the lenses can be changed, and that opens up the possibility of getting dirt on the sensor. But it's not impossible with a non-interchangeable lens camera either.

I haven't kept up with all of the different cameras out there - that would be a full time job! Newer is generally better, and I think the P80 just came out. Looks like a nice camera but it's getting close to small DSLR size - a lot closer to that then pocket-sized anyway. A D50 (or other brand's equivalent) will cost more, but I'm sure you'd gain some flexibility with it too. You'd also get a much better optical viewfinder.