Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Is there a big difference,,, lenses 4 Canon 10 D

OK, I'm a newbie to this thing called DSLR,,,,

I bought a Canon 10D with a Tamron 28-300 XR it does Ok, "What do I know" but I want a wider lens! I take mostly landscape shots... The Tamron doesn't widen out enough, I know stupid statement, well here is the first question, "IS THERE A DIFFERENCE" between the Canon Super Wides and say the Sigma super wide? I'm looking at the 12-24mm from Sigma and the 10-22mm from Canon???? Will I be able to tell a huge difference in picture quality? or will Photoshop take care of the little thing's? On the cheaper lens??

OK question number 2,,, Super Zooms I also take Wildlife photos, I've purchased a 2x phoenix teleconvertor for the Tamron 28-300 XR,,, Not impressed...

So here goes, another could be stupid question? Canon 100-400 USM IS with a 2x Canon tele-pro convertor cost is going to be 1800.00 or so buck's
    Or can I get away with a lower priced Super Zoom like a Phoenix 650-1300 mm and sharpen the pictures up in Photoshop?

Am I thinking that Photoshop will fix the cheaper lenses more so than it is capable of doing?

Thanx in advance, Dustin

I'm no expert on lenses, but I've heard EVERYWHERE to Get The Best Lens You Can Afford, even if you put it on a cheaper body. You're only as good as your lens.

Remember, sharpening is artificial, and leaves artifacts. You're degrading your image IMO. Best to start with the best image possible.

Besides, even if you could sharpen everything up in Photoshop, is that how you want to be spending your time??
    Drink Coffee. Do stupid things faster with more energy.

Toon Army Foot Soldier straightarm's Avatar

One key difference is