Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Stupid question for the day

I have been using a Rebel T2 (film camera) for the last 2 years, but I have recently
    been toying with the idea of maybe someday(after I have gotten better on my film camera) getting a digital.
    Like maybe getting a cheper one at first to get used to, then later get an advanced
    digital like a Panasonic Lumix, there seems to be things I want to do that I cant do
    with a film camera, like infared and photoshop & something that I really need is to be able
    to see the shot after I take it & if I dont like it do it over.OK here comes the stupid part how much different is it to use a digital camera than film,I honestly have never touched
    one, is there a lot to learn, than just regular photography? How much extra stuff
    will I have to buy to download pics& etc.......Sorry I told you it was a stupid question

May the force be with you Canuck935's Avatar

Re: Stupid question for the day

There are a few things such as white balance and histograms that makes shooting digital different than film. All of your basics photographic skills and priciples still apply. To get started, you really don't need much more than a camera and a computer with some hard drive space. Most camera's come with their own software for downloading images off the camera and for doing some basic corrections.

As for a camera, I would probably pick a camera that you can both learn on and grow with. Such as a camera that will allow you to do auto everything like any point and shoot but will also allow you to switch to manual control of everything. This way you're only working on improving your actual skills instead of trying to learn a new camera everytime you out-grow one.