Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.
    Learning more with every "click" mjs1973's Avatar

Questions for film shooters

I'm planning on doing a lot of film shooting this fall, once the floliage turns colors. I'm pretty new to shooting slide film, but I love it, and want to try more. I have a pile of Velvia 50, and a roll of Provia 100 right now. I'm planning on ordering some things from B&H and some more Provia 100 and a few rolls of Provia 400 are on my list. I'm wondering what Kodak has to offer in a color saturated slide film. I see they have Kodachrome, Ectachrome and Elete Chrome, each followed by a differant set of letter combinations, but I don't know the differance. Any recomendations or a brief explanation as to the differances?

I'm also thinking of getting a B+W color enhancing filter to really bring out the fall colors. Do you think this would take some of these films over the top? I'm planning on getting a film scanner soon, so tweeking the color in the computer will be possible, so maybe the filter would be waste of $. Any thoughts on this?
    Mike

My website
    Twitter
    Blog

"I thought that because fewer wolves meant more deer, that no wolves would mean hunters' paradise. But after seeing the green fire die, I sensed that neither the wolf nor the mountain agreed with such a view."
    Aldo Leopold

Re: Questions for film shooters

Am I still allowed to answer this one? I still have a rangefinder!

I never used a lot of filters with B&W because I was planning on scanning - so I could not only do it later but have more control of exactly how much "red filter" I wanted. If you were doing your own darkroom prints it would be another story, but if you plan on scanning I'd skip the filters.