Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Thread: Monopod Advice

Kentucky Wildlife

Monopod Advice

I'm an outdoor photographer, shooting both action outdoor scenes and wildlife, so most of the time I need to be versatile and moble. For the largest part of this, I use a fairly heavy 200mm f/2.8 and can get good shots with it hand held. A tripod makes everything better, but for most of my shots, there isn't time to fiddle with one, so I'm shopping for a monopod and would like some reccommendations.
    Most of the time I would use it simply to stabalize horizontal shots, but I'd also like the option of quickly tilting the camera to vertical.
    I am, by the way, only 5 foot, six inches tall.

Re: Monopod Advice

Well, I often use a Canon Monopod 100 for photographing wild birds, and really like its performance. This monopod has a maximum weight capacity of 2 kilograms – the PENTAX K20D and PENTAX 200mm f2.8 ED SDM lens will fit with about 300 grams left to spare. (e.g. for external flash, hood, filters). Height is nearly 5 feet, six inches – but for monopods don't use them standing straight up, rather angled forward to obtain best effectiveness.

You won't need to fiddle around much, it has a smooth mini ball head, comfortable foam grip and a strap for the left hand. The only thing that does need a bit of fiddling is height adjusting via little (somewhat stiff) leg clamps.

I would definitely recommend this monopod, not to expensive and does what a good monopod should do. I'm sure there are other models out there, but this is the one I use and am very happy.

I have a review here.

Hope this helps, Ron...

They (such as Manfrotto/Bogen) make a relatively light, small head that does nothing but flip from horizontal to vertical. This may be all you need for a monopod. – TF