Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Hopefully a simple question

I am an experienced photographer, practicing for 7 years (im 21) and I need some help. A year or so ago, I spent a day in Chicago shooting pictures all day. I was shooting black and white film from a 35mm Pentax SLR. When I got them developed, the pictures turned out in an almost green toned sepia. Someone was telling me that it is a specific type of film, and another person told me that it was just a mistake in the developing. If someone could get back to me and let me know what is true, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Mig
    C8H10N4O2
    I ran off on Thursday with a dance troupe from Spain
    Hi jones and welcome to PR! Just FYI, we have a Help Files board for just this type of question.

To answer your question, it sounds as if you were using C-41 (or 1-hour) black and white film instead of traditional black and white film. And both answers you got were right. The first answer is correct in that this normally would only happen with C-41 B&W film. The second answer is better because C-41 B&W film can be printed without the color cast, as long as the lab knows what they're doing.

The more common C-41 B&W films are Kodak B&W Plus, Kodak T400CN Professional Black & White, and Ilford's XP-2 Super (my personal favorite of the C-41s). Hope that helped!

Danielle