Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Smile Just a novice with some questions. :]

Feel free to answer one or all questions. I know I have a lot to ask. Any help/suggestion is much apreciated! :D

I'm new to photography, and plan to learn photography on my own if I can't get into the photography class at my high school. Suggested books to learn from?

A 35mm SLR manual adjusted camera is required for the class; I've been looking into getting a Nikon FM10 for the body, but was wondering if anyone had a better suggestion for students.

As far as lenses go, I was told I need a manual lens for the FM10; can I have an auto focus lens and use it manually, or will the lens not work on the camera body I want?

I want a manual 50mm f/1.8, and have been having trouble finding a used one of the Nikon brand that is $150 or less. Are there better lenses for beginners? Would a 50mm f/1.4 suit me just as well?

I'm also wondering about the Micro-Nikkor 55mm f/2.8 or the 105mm f/2.8 - good for beginners?
    I'd like to be able to do both close up shots, but use the same lens for general photography.

As far as film goes:
    Good brands for black and white?
    Good brands for color?
    Good brands overall?
    What kind of price am I looking at per cartridge?

Thanks for everything. [:

Re: Just a novice with some questions. :]