Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

just another newbie

Now I know that you probably get this a lot, but I spent a quite a bit of time researching your forums and still needed a little bit of advice. I am a college student and am taking a photography class next semester and am required to purchase a camera for it. The only details they gave on what type of camera we need is that it must be "A fully adjustable 35mm camera." Wow, what detail.

Anyway, as far as my experience goes, there's not much. I took one photography class in high school and really enjoyed it. I am a medical student, so I don't have ten bizillion hours to shoot photos, but I definitely would love to make it a hobby.

I'm looking for a camera that would be a good beginner camera for someone that isn't going to necessarily use it everyday, but will still be a camera that I can keep for years to come. Obviously, with me being a college student, price is a huge factor as well. I don't even know if it's possible, but I would like to spend no more than $300 for the complete setup. If this is out of the question, no problem, I can spend more, but that's a ballpark.

Thanks a lot for any advice you can give.

Re: just another newbie

Buy used.
    Older cameras were built in the time of vulcanite and metal.
    Bang it? no problem!
    Although you may need a CLA with some really old cameras...then that wouldnt be worth it since CLAs are really expensive.

Good luck with that

nature/wildlife co-moderator paulnj's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by ltjpunk7