Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Thread: jpeg basic

project forum co-moderator Frog's Avatar

jpeg basic

Took my camera while getting mail the other day and ended up getting some photos I like a lot. Then I noticed that my card count said I had 3.1 pics left. Couldn't figure that out but pictures seemed to be taking ok.
    When I loaded them they loaded (about 40) really fast and when I opened them with photoshop I discovered they were jpegs. Then I checked the camera and it was set on jpeg basic. I have no idea how that happened as I always shoot raw.

Anyway, since I'm not technically informed, what can be done with these pics other than posting on internet? Can they be improved? Does it have anything to do with increasing resolution as in GB1's question about increasing resolution?
    Keep Shooting!

CHECK OUT THE PHOTO PROJECT FORUM
    http://forums.photographyreview.com/...splay.php?f=34

Please refrain from editing my photos without asking.

Re: jpeg basic

Quote Originally Posted by Frog
    Took my camera while getting mail the other day and ended up getting some photos I like a lot. Then I noticed that my card count said I had 3.1 pics left. Couldn't figure that out but pictures seemed to be taking ok.
    When I loaded them they loaded (about 40) really fast and when I opened them with photoshop I discovered they were jpegs. Then I checked the camera and it was set on jpeg basic. I have no idea how that happened as I always shoot raw.

Anyway, since I'm not technically informed, what can be done with these pics other than posting on internet? Can they be improved? Does it have anything to do with increasing resolution as in GB1's question about increasing resolution?
    Sorry, you're boned...
    John Cowan