Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Question Indoor lightmeterless photography

Dear All,

Would like to say hello as this is my first time on here. I would be especially grateful if you could assist me with a problem. I am just starting out in medium format photography and have a Seagull 4A-107. If you are farmiliar with the Seagull, you know it has no light meter, so I am flying by the seat of my pants if you know what I mean. For ordinary, outdoor daylight photography, I use the "Sunny 16 Rule" (I still have not gotten my first roll developed yet though, so the jury is still out on the "Rule" ;) ). I have, however, been left in the dark (pardon the pun ) when it comes to indoor daylight photography. Kodak has a chart for indoor night time photography, but nothing on indoor daytime. I have not been able to find any chart anywhere that recomends exsposure or aperture for indoor subjects. Remember, I have no light meter and would like some general guidlines.

Yours respectfully,

Dzerzhinski

Re: Indoor lightmeterless photography

Too many variables to make a chart, I'd guess. Direct or indirect sunlight, overcast day, time of day - that can all have a huge effect on your exposure. If you're talking about window lit portraits, it's pretty much the same as outdoor exposures as long as your subject is near the window. Might try bracketing up from your daylight exposure at +1 and +2; negative film doesn't work well underexposed.

Quote Originally Posted by another view