Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.
    Junior Member smilesarepriceless's Avatar

Focused Image...Blurred Background?

My Canon 30D is coming in the mail anyday.. (YIPEEE)) and saying I am a newbie is an understatement..This is my first SLR and I want to be prepared and learn QUICK how to get some wonderful bday pics of my daughter.

What I have admired most of pictures of peers taking children's pictures is when the focal point of the child ( is in focus) and behind the child or whatever is in the background appears blurred/fuzzy.

Can you tell me the technical term for this and how I can go about doing it? Having the technical term will at least help me look for tutorials..Thanks!:thumbsup:

May the force be with you Canuck935's Avatar

Re: Focused Image...Blurred Background?

You'll want to read up on "Depth of field" or I've seen it abbreviated as dof a lot. Basically it's using combinations of aperature and focal length to control how much distance in front of and behind the focal point will look focused or look blurred.

Here is a link to the photography exposure guide in the learn section of photographyreview.

http://www.photographyreview.com/exposureguidecrx.aspx

This is a good start as it explains the 'basics.'

Depth of Field (DOF) is it. With this shot, you could have used a larger aperture like f4 and made the DOF much smaller. With a wider aperture like this, a smaller area is in focus - instead of a couple of feet from the camera to infinity being in focus you'll have an area that's in focus from (rough guess) 3' to 8' by focusing on the child's face. How much DOF you have depends on the aperture (f-stop) as well as a few other things but that will get you started.