Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Fitting a old Minolta lenses on a Nikon D50?

So I have some on Minolta len's from a X-7A SLR I was hoping I could use them on my Nikon D50 with some kind of adapter.

I'm sure you will need some info about the lenses but being a photography noob I'm not sure what to give you sooo...

One lens says Minolta MD 50mm 1:17 Japan 49mm

The other says Magnicon Multi-Coated Auto Zoom Maco 1:3:9 f=70-210mm 58 No.85100597

If you need anymore info please ask, Any help will be helpful.

Thanks!

Re: Fitting a old Minolta lenses on a Nikon D50?

The old manual focus Minolts lenses have an SR-mount (commonly labelled as MC or MD). The adapters are available (search ebay for "adapter nikon md). I will leave the usability question to the Nikonites. - TF
    -----------------
    I am no better than you. I critique to teach myself to see.
    -----------------
    Feel free to edit my photos or do anything else that will help me learn.
    -----------------
    Sony/Minolta - way more gear than talent.

You can with a $$$ adapter, but it may only be a full manual lens and may not have Auto Stop down.
    GRF

Panorama Madness:

Nikon D800, 50mm F1.4D AF, 16-35mm, 28-200mm & 70-300mm

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but It's simply not worth it. Because of the registration distance, you will not be able to focus the Minolta lenses for anything except close-ups if you could even find a reasonably priced adapter for it.

In addition, you will lose all exposure automation, and of course, be stuck with manual focusing, but the Nikon D50's meter won't work at all.