Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Post First Time Shooting Engagement Photos..Help?

I am a photography student with hardly any portrait experience. I have no experience doing portraits outdoors. I have been asked to shoot her engagement photos this upcoming week (12/31/09). I am flattered they have faith in me to do a good job, but I am very worried about getting really good shots for them. I will be using a Nikon D40 and the 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor lens. I also have the 18-55mm kit lens, but I have found the DOF, sharpness, and speed of the lens to be not really the greatest. I have no flash besides the pop up flash on my camera, no reflectors, etc.
    We will be doing an outdoor shoot downtown. So I guess you could consider it somewhat of a city shoot even though we live in only a moderate sized city in Indiana. I am concerned with a few things. One being my lack of experience and getting good, quality shots with nice color, lighting, focus, etc. The second being, it will be very cold and probably gray that day, seeing as it is the end of December. Some advice on shooting in these conditions are much appreciated. Third being, I need advice on what types of poses to do for an older couple in the city. I also have no idea what to charge them. I will be giving them a CD with the photos after I've edited them. They will be printing them on their own.
    Any advice would be great. I am pretty nervous about this first time job, and would love to do the best job possible on my incredibly tight budget.

Re: First Time Shooting Engagement Photos..Help?

I would set the camera to save the photos as JPG+RAW.
    GRF

Panorama Madness:

Nikon D800, 50mm F1.4D AF, 16-35mm, 28-200mm & 70-300mm