Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Question film for evening outdoor pictures...

Well, I finally got to the point where I fee okay about taking pictures at this wedding that's coming up, but the mother of the groom has now asked me to take outdoor candid shots at the rehearsal dinner this week-end...it never ends with these people! I have very little experience with evening pictures, even with point and shoot, I've primarily taken daytime shots. Will I be okay with 400 speed film and 50mm lens and SB28 flash? I also have the 28/105 lens, but I haven't used it in low light situations yet and I don't think this is the time for experimentation. I've searched other threads here, but I couldn't really get an idea of what would be best. Some posts make it seem like maybe 800ISO would be best? Will I get a lot of red eye in this situation? I'm going to buy a flash bracket, but even though I know it may be the best thing to use, I feel silly using it (a complete amateur posing as a real photographer).

As always, thanks for you input and patience. I hope to someday feel confidant enough to contribute here instead of just mooching all the free photography advice!

Re: film for evening outdoor pictures...

A flash bracket will make a big difference with shadows and redeye. With the flash a little higher than it would normally be, the shadows will drop behind the subject and you won't have a dark shadow ring around someone who's close to a wall. I liked Stroboframe's Cameraflip the best out of the two I had and it fit my Nikon F100 very well - but not the others. I wouldn't buy one of these without trying it out first. I'd recommend the anti-twist plates for both flash and camera too, and you'll need a TTL flash cord like a Nikon SC17.