Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Liz

Dust in sensor - Help!

I posted these 2 images on VF - Paul noticed evidence of dust in the sensor - see upper left side (I thought these were a mark on my monitor). Does anyone know where I could get this done?

I don't think I want to do this myself - I'm not good at "fixing" fragile equipment on my camera (Rebel XT).

The only place I know that services cameras around here basically does 35mm equipment. Where can I find a local place - northern NJ or Manhatten to do this? I got the camera at B&H.

Thanks for any help.

Liz
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Dust in sensor - Help!-berkshiresmtg7877.jpg   Dust in sensor - Help!-berkshiresmtg7878.jpg  

Re: Dust in sensor - Help!

I saw those last night - you said a couple minutes apart? Interesting weather!

And I have to say I noticed dust on them too but wasn't sure if it was on the sensor or not. The main thing I see is a curl (like a backwards "C") at the very upper left of the blue sky, but it's down a little farther on the cloudy sky. Usually dust doesn't move so it's always in the same spot on every image, but if it's something this big it can move a little just from the mirror and shutter going up and down - like a fan. I see a couple other spots on there that are more typical though.

First line of defense is prevention. Change lenses quickly, never leave the body without a cap longer than needed, turn your back to the wind if you're outside, etc. You've had this camera long enough that you're probably careful with this, if you haven't done anything to clean it yet. You can clone out a piece or two quick enough in Photoshop and this also keeps you from having to deal with the sensor.