Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Thread: Choosing a lens

Choosing a lens

Hello!
    I'm back again to ask for some more guidance before I take pictures at a wedding in a couple of weeks. Just a reminder, I am a complete amateur. The bride and groom asked me to do this because I'm the only person they know that uses a film SLR, so they seem to think that means I'm a pro. I'm just starting to learn the technical aspects of photography. I still don't even fully understand f-stops, focal length, etc... YIKES! :blush2:

I want to try to buy a new lens before the wedding, and I was hoping for some confirmation on the research that I've been doing. The wedding will be shot indoors, with very little light. I would like to be as mobile as possible so that I can (hopefully) get interesting shots from various angles during the ceremony. I started taking pictures with my uncle's old Canon and a 50mm lens (primarily shots of the mountains and the dogs during camping trips) so that's what I'm used to. I just bought a Nikon N80 with a Tamron 28/200 lens, which I'm still trying to get used to. From what I've read, I think I should be looking for something like a 28/70, 18/70, or perhaps even a 50mm that I can use with my new camera? Does this seem about right?

Thank you in advance for any advice!

Re: Choosing a lens