Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Angry Canon EOS 10D - Digital banding problems

Hi There,

I am a modeling photographer and I shoto with a 10D and 16-35 F2.8 L and 100-400 F4.5 L lenses.

I wanted to share some photos with fellow 10D owners to see if anyone has ever had this problem and if so how it was resolved? I have had my 10D for over a year now and have taken around 60 thousand photos. Up until now it has been fine, never skipepd a beat, but the last few shoots I have had the results below. not every photo, just a few here and there. Anyone have any ideas what it is or what causes it?

Needless to say the 10-D is going back ot Canon next week for service and repair. Im just curious if anyone has seen this issue? Thank god for the backup camera... :-)

You can clearly see the banding issues in the photos.

http://www.wollongongbeach.com/Mel_01.jpg
    http://www.wollongongbeach.com/Mel_02.jpg
    http://www.wollongongbeach.com/Mel_03.jpg

Cheers
    Jason
    www.jasoncolephotography.com.au

Wow that's a bugger isn't it Jason.

Wollongong Sunrise hey, looks good.

For those that don't know, Wollongong is on the East Coast of Australia in NSW, about 1 1/2 south of Sydney. Coal export are, but has some really pretty coast line, great pubs, Hangliding of the huge cliff tops at Stanwell Tops, one of the pretty areas of Australia.

I certainly would be getting it back to canon, what were the settings for the shots that have the banding Jason. I wonder if the banding has something to do with reds.