Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Thread: Camera speeds

Total Photography Rookie

Camera speeds

I'm a newb here. I'm just getting into the hobby of photography. My first question has to do with camera speeds. I'm looking at a Canon 30D. I found a good price, but the salesman told me that I would need to get a Ultra High fast CF card to take advantage of the 5f/per second on the Canon. I smelt a rat, so I didn't order anything at this time. I know this is a newb question, but is there any validity to what he told me or do I throw up the BS flag?

project forum co-moderator Frog's Avatar

Re: Camera speeds

Depends on the kind of photos you will be taking.
    Are you shooting action/sports? Then you might need the 5 fps ability and a high speed card.
    Taking nature shots, portraits, stuff that doesn't move much? Then you'll probably seldom need that 5 frames per second and even if you do once in a while, the camera can handle it without the ultra high speed card if it is only 5 frames and then a pause.
    Cards are rated for speed so you should be able to look up cards and their speeds and decide what you need.
    Good luck!
    Keep Shooting!

CHECK OUT THE PHOTO PROJECT FORUM
    http://forums.photographyreview.com/...splay.php?f=34

Please refrain from editing my photos without asking.

Poster Formerly Known as Michael Fanelli mwfanelli's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by firehire