Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Advice and insight needed . . .

I recently shot a Dance Company performance and will be shooting more performances for them in the next coming shows.
    The Choreographer of the company is going to be producing a CD for a Middle Eastern musical group.
    She has mentioned that she would like me to shoot the photos for the CD covers.
    I have never done anything like this before and am not sure what is expected of me.
    Does the photographer usually design the cover as well, or does that fall into the hands of someone else?
    When the shoot is done, do I hand over all the files from the shoot, or do I get to select the best, edit them a bit and then hand them over for her viewing.
    When I did the Dance performance, I sent them all the files from the shoot as well as digital Contact sheets and another folder that had "My Picks" that were the ones I felt were the best , edited and finished to my liking.
    Any ideas and insight would be most helpful for me before I discuss away the details of the shoot with her.
    please do not edit and repost my photos

gary

Re: Advice and insight needed . . .

Congrats on getting the job Gary. Is it going to be a CD of music or DVD of dancing or both?
    I am like Barney Fife, I have a gun but Andy makes me keep the bullet in my pocket..

Sony a99/a7R

Greg, thanks although I do not officially have it yet. It's a good thing that I have been getting my lighting set up together now and am using a Canon wireless setup with umbrellas, reflectors, and home made snoots and grids lol.