Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Question 35mm A/F or Digital - HELP ME, PLEASE

I have a P&S Ricoh Shotmaster 130 that I am very disappointed in - the background is usually more in focus than the subject matter and the flash washes out the color...I don't know if I "shake" too much or what (I did have a "professional" person take some photos w/this camera and she thought that at times the shutter didn't close fast enough - thereby the out of focus photos ????) and l have a "washed out color" problem w/a Olympus Stylus Epic 2.8 fixed lens - I like to take INDOOR photos of my cats and now it doesn't wind my film in the camera! Years ago I had a 35mm A/F Konica that took decent photos - in focus and the color was good. Since I am not a technical person and will NOT be using different settings - is there a reasonably priced, simple, 35mm A/F camera out there that takes really good INDOOR photos or should I be looking at a Digital? My fear w/a Digital is that I have heard they are slow...and my cats are fast. Please help - the more I look, the more confused I get. I am really looking forward to your guidance. Thanks.

Well, it seems to me that you are trying to shoot moving subject, something that's VERY difficult for P&S cameras of any kind. The autofocus just can't keep up.

As for the flash blowouts, that's 99% your processing. Find a different lab, or tell your current lab to process them better. Squeaky grease gets the wheel...

WHen taking pictures of moving subjects, prefocus on where you want to take the picture, and when they come into focus take the shot. THat's something you'll have to do with all cameras in the low range, no matter if their digital or film.

BTW, whoever told you digital is slow probably never held one before in their life...
    -Seb

My website