Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

35 mm camera questions

I have a digital slr ,but i need a film slr for class. My skill levels between beginner & intermediate. I know the lens is more important than the camera, but im no that sure what camera and lens to look for, maybe a Canon (it does need to be able to go from manual to auto focus). Im also a student so i can't spend alot of money,and i do plan on buying a used one. help please

Re: 35 mm camera questions

The Canon EOS A2 is an excellent body with most of the bells and whistles without costing an arm and a leg. It's an Auto Focus(EOS) body that's almost pro. KEH has them for around $70 in Excellent condition. The 1N is a pro level body going for about $250, and the 3 is a prosumer body that is a little newer than the 1N and goes for around $300. Just depends how nice you want to go.

For class I would look toward prime lenses, they aren't too expensive, usually fairly fast, and usually very sharp. For example a 50mm f/1.8 is about $80. Other primes are usually in the $200-$500 range for shorter focal lengths, if you stay away from the pro level glass.

You don't say what DSLR you have but you may want to look for something compatible with it.
    Rule books are paper they will not cushion a sudden meeting of stone and metal. --Ernie Gann--
    What is a cynic? A man who knows the price of everything and the value of nothing. --Oscar Wilde--

Well i have a nikon d 60

id suggest looking for a used nikon film slr... you can get them pretty cheap for which ever features you need for class. id definitely get a nikon to be able to have compatible lenses flashes etc.
    check out my photography website
    http://dylanschneider.zenfolio.com/