Film Cameras and Photography Forum

Film Photography Forum Discuss film photography techniques, including darkroom, film types, film cameras, filters, etc. - forum moderator is Xia-Ke.
Read and Write Film Reviews >>
Read and Write 35mm SLR Reviews >>
Read and Write Rangefinder Camera Reviews >>
Read and Write Medium Format Camera Reviews >>

Durst 6x7 Enlarger

Hi I'm hoping someone can help me make my mind up about this.

Someones offered me a Durst 6x7 Enlarger for about £50. While I'm primarily a 35mm B+W photographer I've heard people say that you can use a medium format enlarger to produce prints so long as you have the right lense (which this one apparently does), and I could really do with an enlarger as I've just got hold of some space thats begging to be turned into a darkroom.

I've also heard talk that the bulbs used in Durst enlargers aren't made anymore, does anyone know if thats the case?

I should say I don't know masses about darkroom equiptment, as it wasn't an issue to know more than how to use it at school and since then I've been getting my prints through other sources. I've never had to buy anything as large as an enlarger for photography, so I really could do with some help on making a decent choice.

Also if anyone can suggest any good tips for checking out an enlarger you're tempted to buy.

Thanks

Re: Durst 6x7 Enlarger

I bought an enlarger a few years ago but never got around to building a darkroom, so I got rid of it. I had a Bessler 23C which is also a 6x7 enlarger, and looked to be very popular so replacement parts and accessories would probably be available for a long time (used, most likely).