Film Cameras and Photography Forum

Film Photography Forum Discuss film photography techniques, including darkroom, film types, film cameras, filters, etc. - forum moderator is Xia-Ke.
Read and Write Film Reviews >>
Read and Write 35mm SLR Reviews >>
Read and Write Rangefinder Camera Reviews >>
Read and Write Medium Format Camera Reviews >>
    Complete NewBee to B&W LuvMyRedHead's Avatar

Developing Color vs B & W

Good Morning All,

Naive question here, beginner still...

What are the differences between developing color and b&w? My assumption is color is more involved? Do any of you do your own color developing? Is a color dark room mroe expensive to put together than a b&w one?

Thanks for the answers...

Re: Developing Color vs B & W

Hi LMRH, your assumption is correct. It's a couple of extra steps compared to black and white but, the main difference is that temperature is much more important when it comes to color films. Here is a link to a full breakdown showing the steps for several processes:

http://www.kodak.com/global/en/profe...24.14.18&lc=en

If you are just planning to develop film and not make prints, a darkroom is not necessary. All you need is a changing bag and a dark (pitch black) room/closet to load film into your tanks. The rest can be done in bed if you really wanted to. I haven't developed any color film yet. I shoot pretty much only B&W. If you are planning to do color prints, you will need a color head for your enlarger and a drum for developing your prints. Also undeveloped color paper can only be handled in complete darkness unlike B&W paper which can be handled under safelight. Those are some of the basic differences to give you the idea. Do you know if you will be doing color in your class?

Aaron
    Aaron Lehoux * flickr
    Please do not edit my photos, thank you.

Aaron, as usual thanks for the info and speedy reply.