Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

What Video Editing Software?

Hi guys, I'm and absolute beginner in video editing. I have widows 8 and xp platforms. I am looking to edit my daughter's soccer games for on line sportworx and gotsoccer. I am looking for something user friendly that also does audio. I was given an advice from a friend of mine to purchase the Adobe Premiere Elements but it's a little expensive to me. Could you advice some other software with similar functionalities but on lower price. I have read a review for Pinnacle Studio 16 which seems good enough but on a quite lower price (about $60). What would you advice?

Re: What Video Editing Software?

Welcome to PhotographyREVIEW.com I know you're new and can't start your own thread so I went ahead and moved your post to our Digital Video forum so it can get the attention it deserves.

I make a fair number of videos and I do it all with Adobe Premiere Elements 8 on a custom-built Windows 7 machine. I haven't used the Pinnacle software so I can't say anything about it. What I can say is that the biggest issue with video software, in my experience, is stability and reliability. So comparing software features may not be the best way to make a good decision. You don't want to spend less only to discover that the software you chose crashes all the time. I'm not saying that will happen with Pinnacle Studio. But that's what you should be researching - not features. And based on my own experience, it's better to spend more and save yourself a million headaches. Video problems are a nightmare.
    Photo-John

Your reviews are the foundation of this site - Write A Review!