Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

sony handycam - video capture with adobe

I am using the sony handycam TRV350 and have adobe premiere pro 1.5. I am trying to use the feature with adobe that will allow you to capture the video from your device, however when I put the cam on the USB and it connects to the computer, adobe doesnt recognize it.

Does this mean I have to go out and buy a DV wire to make this happen? Also, does the DV wire hook into your existing USB ports?

Im sorry for the newbie questions, but this is my first time attempting this and with just starting to learn the premiere software and the cameras functions, it can be a bit overwhelming!!

If I have to save my video from tape to my computer first and then bring it over to adobe premiere, i guess that would not be a problem. But if I can do the capture, I would think that would be faster?

Thanks for the input and any great suggestion you can offer.

CB

Re: sony handycam - video capture with adobe

What Operating system are you using.

Have you tried connecting the the camera to the computer turning the camera on and then starting the computer, sometimes computers need to have the device turned on to actually see it.

Also you might find your assumption to be correct in regards to the DV connecting to firewire to do the capturing. I have Premiere but not the PRO 1.5 version as that needs Windows XP, I run 2000 still. But I do have a capture card in my machine for this purpose anyway.