Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

Movie-Export yielding only 14 min. avi file of 55 min movie on NTFS drive

This may be kind of a newbie video-editing question, although I am not a newbie to PCs. I have been using Premiere 1.5 to edit some old 8 mm family movies which were transferred to VHS about 20 years ago. I transferred to DV via camera and captured the hour’s worth of video. Sliced it up into manageable segments and corrected color and the many other faults that occurred when cameras were not as intelligent when the film was made originally. BTW, I am very impressed with what Adobe has been able to do with color corrections etc on video like in PhotoShop. I added music, titles etc. The problem that I’m having is when I export it via Export – Movie (I wanted to take a look at the ‘finished’ version prior to burning) it only produces an avi file of 3.2G covering a little over 14 minutes of the total 55 minutes. When the exporting starts out it tells me that I have a little more than 101,000 frames to render, it will take about 8 hours and it concludes the rendering without any error messages. I read thru the forum posts and made sure that viewing area bar was zoomed out far enough to view the entire project (although opinions seemed to be mixed that this really mattered when rendering the entire project). BTW, I have had no crashes or hiccups during any part of this process and also, the drive is formatted as NTFS so the problem isn't due to file size.

Here are the details of the export configuration:
    Export
    Video and audio
    Entire Sequence

Filetype
    Microsoft DV AVI

Video Settings
    Compressor: DV (NTSC)
    Frame size: 720h 480v (0.900)
    Frame rate: 29.97 frames/second
    Pixel Aspect Ratio: D1/DV NTSC (0.9)
    Color depth: Millions of colors