Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

Mini DV vs DVD ram cameras

Hello......
    I'm new to the forum and I want to learn everything i can about video....editing....cameras....software. I have been shooting stills for 25 years but I am new to digital video. Which brings me to my first question. I purchased a Sony TRV 950 when it first came out. (Big mistake since it has dropped in price dramatically since introduction.) But anyway, my buddy bought a Hitachi DVD ram camera for 1/4 of the price I paid. When viewing recently shot footage and comparing images on a regular TV set, the images from the Hitachi are very close in res and almost better looking color. What gives with that? Did I really screw up by spending so much on a 3 chip?? Or should I have gone up in price from what I spent to a different model of camera for semi pro applications which I would like to get into. What do you think of this camera and, If the latter is true........what camera would you recommend?
    Also....what would you think of my editing software choice between say....Vegas or Pinnacle??

Thanks for your help.
    Last edited by Monstr; 09-05-2005 at 03:59 PM.

Re: Mini DV vs DVD ram cameras

hi there, well all i can tell u is not to get a video cam that records directly to dvd, anyone who is serious about videography will tell u that, dv format is the way to go and def stay with a 3 ccd cam if u have one.