Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Thread: which zoom lens

which zoom lens

Hello all
    I am new to photography therefore I need advice regarding a lens purchase. I am soon to go on a 10 day safari in africa and would like to purchase a zoom lens that will allow me to photograph wildlife.
    I have a canon eos350d and need a compatible zoom lens. I have read that 400mm is the minimum recommended zoom lens when on safari to capture the sometimes distant wildlife. The lenses in this category all seem quite heavy and I feel that without the use of a tripod (it is not poosible for me to carry a tripod around when on safari) I would struggle to hold a lens of this weight without excessive shake. I have therefore been looking at canons range of IS lens and sigmas range of OS lens. Can anyone please offer any thoughts on these lens or suggest a suitable but cheaper alternative that would allow me to hand shoot my pics and still produce sharp images at the max focal length?
    Many Thanks in advance

Re: which zoom lens

Are you doing your safari by foot or by jeep. If by foot maybe a lightweight monopod might work. If by jeep, then you could probably prop it with a bag of rice against the window or over the top of the cab. IS and OS are great, but very expensive. You will have plenty of light on safari so you should be able to shoot at a fairly fast shutter speed which will take away a lot of shake. If you have the money then I I say invest in the quality glass. If not, then by the best you can get and prop when you have to. I have propped on other peoples shoulders (they have been good friends of mine). Just remember to squeze the shutter, and you'll be fine.