Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Yet another camera purchasing question :)

Hello my name is Michael, I have a couple of questions that I would like your opinions on.

I currently have a Nikon D40 camera that I purchased when they first came out. I have been shooting with the kit lens since I have purchased the thing.

I want to take the next step and move up to a more advanced setup. I am a pretty broke college student so money is scarce. Have a set budget of 800 dollars that I want to use to upgrade my setup which I plan on doing around October.

My ultimate desire is to have some decent glass and a nice camera body.
    I have not really bought into any camera brand so I am open to purchasing Nikon, Canon, Etc..

If I stay With Nikon I am going to need to replace my 18-55mm kit lens because there is a scratch on the rear element that interferes with photos taken in bright light.

I have been looking at purchasing a refurbished D80 that adorama has for sale at 599.99 and a pick up a used Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S.

If I just upgrade glass I will probably purchase some of the AF-S lenses that Nikon has currently (55-200mm AF-S VR, 35mm f/1.8G AF-S, and a new 18-55mm kit lens)

I have been watching Ebay for Nikon DSLR’s and have spotted some good deals, hopefully when October rolls around there may be good listings as well.

What do you guys think? I know that a good rule of thumb is upgrade the glass before the body but the D40 is getting pretty limited for me as of late.

Like I said I am not married on a camera brand. However I used Nikon as an example because that is what I am familiar with.

__