Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Why Go To DSLR?

Re: Why Go To DSLR?

I've been using a Sony NEX mirrorless for a couple years. Thinking about upgrading to a DSLR. First of all, am I upgrading and Why should I go to a DSLR?

Quote Originally Posted by coachgns View Post
    I've recently begun to do some serious (but amateur) photography, and am thinknig of "upgrading" to a DSLR. But I'd like to know WHY - will I get more from it.

I have been using a Nikon Coolpix 8800 for a couple of years. Other than being very slow writing on the cards when shooting large pics, I like the results I'm getting. It has 8 megs, and a 10X zoom. Also decent Macro.
    A large electronic swivel viewfinder, and a fairly large lens.

I like taking nature, cityscapes & people. Not doing sports or portraits at this time.

So if I go to a DSLR, what will I get that I don't have with this?

Thanks
    IMO going to a SLR system would be comparing a multi-tool to having a work shop where the latter is ideal for big and specialized tasks.

The areas where you might get more out of the move might be image quality, shooting performance, image and video options that come from specific lenses or flash systems. You mention city scapes. A very fast or wide lens would be an example where SLR might be superior for that.

IMO traveling to a SLR arrangement would be comparing a mufti-tool to accepting a plan boutique area the closing is ideal for big and specialized tasks.