Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Why Go To DSLR?

Re: Why Go To DSLR?

To be honest the question I would ask is: 'Why stick with film?'

I've been a P&S user for years, but wanted the option to tweak my shots as using a P&S got a little boring for me. After a couple months of researching and saving, I recently upgrade to a DSLR (Canon T2i) with a EF-S 55-250mm lens. I'm still learning this camera but pics in "auto" mode alone are amazing, you totally see the difference between a DSLR shot vs a P&S shot. I was/am also using a casio Exilim 10mp camera. You'll spend hundreds for a DSLR set-up that you like, but its an investment towards better quality photos/video's for the long run, especially if you like taking pics of your family/vacations/etc. You can be more creative with a DSLR. Photos are snapshots in your life that sometimes never happen again. When you upgrade a DSLR, you buy lenses to your liking, and your more likely to get a far better value later on your used DSLR equipment vs a P&S. P&S used to be the way to go because of portability, but I found on recent trips that more people were taking pics with DSLR's than P&S.
    Canon T2i
    Canon EF-S 55-250mm lens
    Canon EF-S 18-55mm lens
    Rocketfish UV Filter (55-250mm)
    Tffen UV Filter (18-55mm)
    ET-60 Lens Hood (55-250mm)
    Battery Grip

I'm pretty pumped to upgrade to a DSLR, they seem the do everything camera

Quote Originally Posted by dylanpipe View Post
    I'm pretty pumped to upgrade to a DSLR, they seem the do everything camera
    Nah, they only do as much as the attached lens lets them.
    - Charlie

Feel free to edit and repost my work as a part of your critique.