Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Why Go To DSLR?

Why Go To DSLR?

I've recently begun to do some serious (but amateur) photography, and am thinknig of "upgrading" to a DSLR. But I'd like to know WHY - will I get more from it.

I have been using a Nikon Coolpix 8800 for a couple of years. Other than being very slow writing on the cards when shooting large pics, I like the results I'm getting. It has 8 megs, and a 10X zoom. Also decent Macro.
    A large electronic swivel viewfinder, and a fairly large lens.

I like taking nature, cityscapes & people. Not doing sports or portraits at this time.

So if I go to a DSLR, what will I get that I don't have with this?

Thanks
    http://liphotoman.smugmug.com/

We share the same biology, Regardless of ideology

Re: Why Go To DSLR?

Well just having a camera (and knowing how to use it) is 95% of it--the rest is details.

SLR are about flexibility and that extra 5%

DSLR's allow you to
    • use various lenses to suit specific shooting requirements.
    • Better Optics in general.
    • use fast lenses with very short depth of fields and lock on that subject.
    • use large sensors with better noise quality and more sophisticated image processing.
    • Faster frame rates with shorter lag times.
    • External controls on almost all features, so changing settings don't require looking at the LCD.
    • External flashes that are matched with camera.
    • More control on shooting parameters such as Curtain sync'ing and white balance.
    Bottom line is no camera can give a photographer creativity and inspiration..it can only give him or her a tool to express it. SLRs just add more flexibility.