Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Who has the knowledge?

Hello All,

I am new to photography. I have owned many digital point and shoot camera's. But today I purchased a Canon EOS DSLR 1Ti. I have no idea how to use it but I plan on learning.

I would like to purchase a wide angle lens. I have the biggest headache from reading infromation from all over the web. I've read that Canon lens are so so, other people suggest purchasing Sigma lens, etc...... I have no idea what I should be looking for. The numbers in the description of the lens mean nothing to me.

Can someone recommend a good wide angle lens? Does price always mean the lens is better?

Thank you for your input.:mad2:
    I am a Newbie Learning How to Become a Hobbiest Photographer:idea:

Re: Who has the knowledge?

I found this article to be pretty interesting and I try to post it up when ever I see questions like this. I think that you need to look at more than just what lens will allow the best image quality for the money but also how the build quality is and I think that lens rental businesses know the most in that category.

http://www.lensrentals.com/news/2009...repair-data-30

http://www.lensrentals.com/news
    Feel free to edit my images, just let me know what you did.

Nikon D90 w/18-105 VR, 70-300VR, 35mm f1.8G &Tamron 10-24 f3.5-4.5
    Nikon SB-600 Speedlight (x2) w/ Gary Fong 1/2 Cloud Light Sphere (x2) and 1 Cloud
    Slik Pro 700DX tripod w/Vanguard SBH-200 ball-head
    Panasonic ZS8

My photo's:
    http://s1227.photobucket.com/albums/...20Photography/