Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

What lens(es) to go with 450d? Help, im a layman!

Hi all

im sure you get asked this sort of thing all the time but i am hoping one or 2 of you will help me out. I am very much the amateur who wants to buy a new toy to be used just a few times a year - hence the 450d not 40d. I would like to buy (ideally 1 but i think its going to have to be 2) lenses but havent got a clue which. here are some pointers as to what i will be doing/would like the camera to do -

1) high powered zoom (ideally 300mm) as will be taking camera on wildlife safari
    2) some wide-angled lens close up work
    3) some high-speed motor-racing stuff
    4) i think i need optical stabilisation in the lenses (having tried them with and without)
    5) most shots will be taken in good light

my budget is around £300-400 for the zoom lens and a bit less for the other - is that reasonable?

could also do with some advice on which memory cards to get too.

any advice appreciated.

thanks
    Jon
    :thumbsup:

Re: What lens(es) to go with 450d? Help, im a layman!

For most people, I would recommend the 450D over the 40D. There are only a few things the 40D has that make it better. And most people won't really benefit from them. I have both and the ony reason I have a 40D is because sometimes I absolutely need the faster frame rate.