Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Thread: Wedding bells

Wedding bells

Hi

I've just been asked by a friend to bring my camera (Nikon D40x) to his wedding this weekend and take some shots throughout the day. Their photographer has cried off at the eleventh hour and they can't find a replacement so they've asked me because I take some nice pictures, some of which I've gifted them. The problem is, all my stuff is done out in the forest or up in the hills, landscapes etc and I do get some nice results but I have no experience of shooting indoors. I have a pretty good flash attachment but no light meter, no tripod and just a couple of Nikkor lenses, 18-55mm and 55-200mm.

I could really use some tips for setting up with what i have, to get some decent images under conditions i'm not familiar with. For instance, when they get to signing the book thing in that little room at the back of the church and then generally indoors at the reception, cutting cake etc. I could just stick it on idiot mode i suppose and hope for the best but if anyone has the time and inclination to throw some tips at this, i'd be more than grateful

Thanks

Re: Wedding bells

tripod and light meter isn't all that necesary.

Go to the church/place where their wedding is and get a feel for how light it is, check what you will want to be metering at.