Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Question Virgin user! What System?

Well I should start by saying hello:thumbsup: to everyone prospective replyee's or not as this is my first foray into the world of forums on any subject. The last technological purchase i made of any note was a packard bell laptop and as you can tell by that statement I hadn't researched or checked out the quality of goods before purchase! never again!!!!:mad2:

Sorry to start with a question but here goes, I am by no means a photographer just for fun and occasionally work ( I am a designer and maker of the fantastic), and i am looking to buy a new digital SLR entry level that best suits me or maybe with a veiw to progress quickly? I have about £500 - £750 to spend... in dollars.....errm....$1300- $1500. And so far have been looking mainly at Canon and Nikon. I have seen a Nikon D50 body with Nikon 18-55mm and 55-200mm lenses, 1Gb Ultrafast SD card, spare independent battery, padded camera case & SD card reader for sale at http://www.bristolcameras.co.uk/page443.htm for £640 and also the Canon 400D & 18-55 with 2Gb Ultrafast CF memory card, spare independent rechargeable battery, independent zoomster case and USB card reader for £595.
    As i have said im no photographer and would mostly be taking shots of static furniture etc studio and on site. People and nature also have a few ideas relating to light and smoke!!!! weirdo.
    Sorry for being a little wide ranging but would appreciate any response as for me as for anyone it is a big outlay and would like others opinions on the age old question of Canon Vs Nikon Question. Many thanks and hi to all Carl

See what feels best

Quote Originally Posted by fandango