Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Tamron 18-270 VC

I'm going on vacation to Buffalo River National Park and I heard that it's a beautiful place to shoot. I have a D70 and want to know if you think the Tamron 18-270 VC is a good enough lens to use.

I am just starting to learn about DSLR and need some advice.

Re: Tamron 18-270 VC

Wendy-
    I'm sorry no one has answered your question yet. I actually started to on the weekend but something got screwed up and I lost my post

Anyway, I haven't actually used the Tamron 18-300mm VC lens. But I have used the 28-300mm VC lens that preceded it. I had the 28-300mm for review for a while and I thought it was pretty good - especially for that zoom range. With the exception of the Canon 28-300mm L IS lens, which costs about $2500, most superzooms require some pretty significant optical compromises. So I was impressed at how good the Tamron 28-300 VC lens was. Is it the sharpest lens I've ever used? Not by a longshot. But it was totally useable at all focal lengths. And I have been really impressed with Tamron's Vibration Compensation image stabilization system. I think it works really well.

Here's my full Tamron 28-300mm XR Di VC lens review >>

As far as user reviews and ratings go, neither lens has a stellar rating. But they aren't rated badly, either:

Tamron AF28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di VC LD Zoom Lens User Reviews >>
    Tamron AF18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Zoom Lens User Reviews >>