Tamron 18-270 VC

Printable View

• 06-12-2010, 09:41 PM
    Wendy Lynn
    Tamron 18-270 VC
    I'm going on vacation to Buffalo River National Park and I heard that it's a beautiful place to shoot. I have a D70 and want to know if you think the Tamron 18-270 VC is a good enough lens to use.

I am just starting to learn about DSLR and need some advice.
  • 06-15-2010, 06:06 PM
    Photo-John
    Re: Tamron 18-270 VC
    Wendy-
    I'm sorry no one has answered your question yet. I actually started to on the weekend but something got screwed up and I lost my post :(

Anyway, I haven't actually used the Tamron 18-300mm VC lens. But I have used the 28-300mm VC lens that preceded it. I had the 28-300mm for review for a while and I thought it was pretty good - especially for that zoom range. With the exception of the Canon 28-300mm L IS lens, which costs about $2500, most superzooms require some pretty significant optical compromises. So I was impressed at how good the Tamron 28-300 VC lens was. Is it the sharpest lens I've ever used? Not by a longshot. But it was totally useable at all focal lengths. And I have been really impressed with Tamron's Vibration Compensation image stabilization system. I think it works really well.

Here's my full Tamron 28-300mm XR Di VC lens review >>

As far as user reviews and ratings go, neither lens has a stellar rating. But they aren't rated badly, either:

Tamron AF28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di VC LD Zoom Lens User Reviews >>
    Tamron AF18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Zoom Lens User Reviews >>

The 28-300mm VC lens has Tamron's "XR" designation, indicating it uses their best optics. The 18-270mm lens is not an XR lens, so it might not be quite as good as the 28-300mm. For that reason, you might consider getting the 28-300mm VC lens instead. It will also give you a little more reach. And assuming you already have a kit lens for whatever camera you own, you've already got the wide end covered, anyhow.