Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

jumping ship? canon vs nikon

i have been using a canon xsi for quite a few years now, and it's time to get a camera that works better in low light. i do shoot professionally, and a lot of the jobs i have been getting require me to shoot in low light with no flash. i have been renting good lenses for the shoots, so i have almost no investment in good canon lenses--otherwise, there would be no need for this question. i'd love to get a full sensor camera, but with the need for a few good lenses right now as well, i'm going to have to stick with a crop sensor for the time being and buy a used full sensor down the line a bit. i have been considering going to nikon, as they seem to be doing a bit better in the sensor/image quality dept.---would love PhotoJohn's commentary, as i know he's a canon guy who has had good opportunity to test nikon stuff as well.
    now..i do have a canon body obviously for backup purposes, so there is that, and i am familiar with the interface. right now, i'm looking in the t4i vs d5200 area. do y'all think canon will catch up in the sensor department? if money were no object, what would y'all do? (of course, money is always an object). the plan for now is to get a better crop sensor camera, buy good lenses that will work with full sensor, then make the jump to full sensor when business justifies it.

Re: jumping ship? canon vs nikon

I would look at the whole camera rather than just at the sensor. The Nikon 5200 is a consumer model. Lots of useful options are hidden in menus rather than in controls. It doesn't have an autofocus motor so you can't use non-AFS lenses (including older prime lenses which are economical and so useful in low light).