Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question about TIFF format

Hi everyone. I started a beginning photography class at our local college last week and the instructor wants us to shoot in TIFF format. I've never done this before. Is there any difference?
    Melissa

Re: Question about TIFF format

Tiff=tagged image file format.
    Non compressed, lossless, huge files. I don't think too many cameras record in .tif, the file sizes are just too large for efficient storage. I would guess your instructor means he would like your files converted to .tif for editing.
    Rule books are paper they will not cushion a sudden meeting of stone and metal. --Ernie Gann--
    What is a cynic? A man who knows the price of everything and the value of nothing. --Oscar Wilde--

Kentucky Wildlife

Yes, I would guess he means shoot it in RAW and then convert to TIFF in your software.

Unfortunately, he wants us to set our camera to TIFF! This class was meant for film cameras but he'll let us use digital if we don't use photoshop to edit.
    Melissa

Kentucky Wildlife

Huh! Something's wrong, Melissa. TIFF is a digital format. I've never heard of a film camera that can be set to TIFF. It's two totally different things.
    Back when I was shooting film, I occasionally scanned slides as TIFFs, but you need a really good scanner. Even then, it takes forever, and the files are enormous.
    I suggest you talk with your instructor again.

If your camera can be set to TIFF format, then follow your instructor's instructions and do so, and have a couple of fairly large cards. TIFF will never be larger than RAW.

If your camera can't be set to TIFF, then talk to him and see what you can work out.