Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Thread: Which one?

lav

Which one?

Hi all, Im new here, looks like a great place and im hoping to spend some more time here once i get my new camera.

I have a question which some one may be able to help me with. I have read many reviews, forums and have spent a little while here even reading the posts. I have very little photographic experience so bare with me.

Im looking at purchasing a DSLR very soon. I have a graphic design business with an increasing demand for product shots of things like food, industrial equipment and other products which it will be mainly used for but i dont want a camera which is good for nothing but.

I have a budget of around AU$1500-$1900. I have looked at (briefly) the Canon EOS 400D which i can get for around AU$1000 and the Pentax K10D which i may be able to get for around $1900.

Finally my question I am thinking maybe i'd be better off going the 400D and using the leftover money to purchase another lens as well as hopefully some lighting. Or should I spend as much as I can to get the best camera I can offord.

I dont want to "grow out" of the camera too quickly and Im a little worried the 400D is not the professionals choice but more of a hobbyists camera, please tell me otherwise.

Any other suggestions on what you think would be the best option for me would be would be greatly appreciated.

thanks guys....

Re: Which one?

If you are asking us what camera, you ARE NOT ready to buy a DSLR.