Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

New to PhotographyReview

I am fairly new to digital and I look forward to learning a lot from this site. I have spent many years photographing weddings and portraits with film cameras including 35mm, medium format and 4x5 view cameras. I have been using my Canon 10D mostly for travel and nature photos. So far I have not manipulated or improved my images in any way. I was always taught to crop in the viewfinder but I would like to improve contrast and other small adjustments when I purchase software. I am glad to be a member and I look forward to learning much.

JohnMichael

Re: New to PhotographyReview

Welcome to the site. This is a good post, John. There are a lot of people, like you, who follow the "in-camera" aesthetic. And it's a worthy one - especially when it comes to cropping. Doing all of your framing in-camera is an accomplishment - even if you can't print your digital files with a filed-out

But you should do some editing to "optimize" your color and contrast. One major difference between digital SLR and shooting film is that the look of your images is your responsibility. With film, you choose a film type for the tone and contrast. With digital, the sensor determines your starting point, but the final look is left up to you. If you make good exposures and shoot RAW, you can pretty much replicate the look of any film type that you want - including any black and white film. That's both the beauty and the burden of digital.