Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Newbie needing lens advice

Hi! This is my first time on this forum. I’ve been reading a lot of the posts and find them very helpful, thank you. In April I will be purchasing my first digital SLR, the Canon Rebel XT. I was contemplating the 20D, but think the Rebel XT is the most bang for the buck. From what I’ve read, it has been suggested to not buy the kit because the EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 lens is not that great. So I would love suggestions on what lens to buy. My budget is around $400. I will be taking mostly nature photos, and am looking for a good all round/every day lens to get me started. I would also like the lens to be compatible with future cameras, whereas the kit lens is only compatible with the 20D or Rebel XT. Thank you for any suggestions you may have!!

Re: Newbie needing lens advice

Actually a better deal may be the new 30D. But lns wise you can go a number of ways. For a single lens that covers just about any situation there is the Canon 28-300 but it's price is $2400 Sigma has the 50-500 but it's pretty pricey too.. For most nature you need something with a long reach. A 600mm would be great, but ots $7,000

JS
    Canon 1D
    Canon 1D MK II N
    Canon 70-200mm USM IS f2.8
    Canon 200mm f1.8 USM
    Canon 300mm f2.8 USM IS
    Canon 28-300mm USM IS f3.5-5.6
    Canon 50mm f1.8
    Vivitar 19-35mm f3.5-5.6

I don't know much about Canon - I use that other brand...